The Convict Church

History

Port Arthur’s timber and stone church, constructed in 1836-37 is a lasting tribute to its convict builders.

Built on high ground to overlook the convict settlement, the church could accommodate over one thousand souls at its services.

The church was never consecrated, due to its use by prisoners of different denominations, but was representative of the authorities’ goal to reform the convict population through religion.

The church was destroyed by fire in 1884 and has undergone repeated conservation work throughout the 20th century.

Present Day

The outer walls are all that remain of the church, making it a popular choice for weddings and community events.  A sound installation of Port Arthur’s original church bells can be heard throughout the day.  Discover more about the fascinating history of Port Arthur’s church bells – download the fact sheet below.

Visit

The church is open to visitors daily from 9.00am until dusk.  Access is included in your Site Entry Pass.

Church tower to interior shot

Documents